Holy Cow!

1 Dec

As most of you know, I have a very high infatuation towards black and white Bos Taurus. Looking at all those unliving cows which are painted on mugs, coin banks, photo frame, umbrella, cookie jar, cd holder, even plush toys – see i could go on forever but I think I’ve made my point, makes me go crazy! Anyways, last Saturday was all about cow. But this one is different. It isn’t about my cow-addiction or anything but it’s about menjalani ibadah.

That day, Hari Raya Aidiladha was celebrated by all Muslims around the world. I woke up early in the morning and went to the mosque near my house to watch the Qurban. The weather’s fine at first but after a few minutes, it started to rain. Thanks to Allah it was just for a while. I could see that there were 8 cows altogether for Qurban and my share for it has gotten place at the second cow. By judging from some aspects, I could see that the cow wasn’t as aggressive as the other 7. Its colour is some kind of Cappucino plus teh tarik, I think so. All seven were with that kinda colour and there was only one cow which was black. Luckily there was no Apartheid among cows involved. Needless to say, the black one was the hardest and aggressive one. It took almost everyone there to lay the cow down so that it will face the Kiblat. I’m quite grateful as my cow wasn’t as active and stubborn like that. Maybe it knew that it has no other choice and Qurban is some kind of an order from the above. I stood there watching all of the men at work because they said I need to be there (in front of my cow) as a witness or something like that. From the moment takbir was on, led by a guy, I felt my blood started pumping and in front of my eyes and in the name of Allah Most Gracious, Most Merciful, they slaughtered the creature. It was my first time watching Qurban in my 21 years of living. My father said, we used to be in my kampung in Kuala Pilah during Aidiladha when i was small. Of course at that time, I was too small to understand anything that has been going on. But now, Seremban is (and always going to be) my kampung since my grandfather passed away. So yeah, that was how i spent my Aidiladha this year. And since then, each and everytime I look at my Moos collection in my room, I simply think that how cute and holy my favourite animal can be.

Daripada Aishah bahawa Rasulullah S.A.W bersabda, “tiada amalan anak Adam yang dilakukan daripada hari raya Aidil Adha yang disukai oleh Allah melainkan berkorban. Haiwan yang dikorbankan itu bersama tanduk-tanduknya, bulu-bulu dan kuku-kukunya akan datang kepadanya pada hari Qiamat. Dan sesungguhnya ibadah ini akan diterima Allah sebelum menitisnya darah sembelihan ke bumi.”

Selamat Hari Raya Aidiladha to all of you 🙂

2 Responses to “Holy Cow!”

  1. Georjie December 2, 2009 at 12:36 am #

    Wow, yo…i’m officially a follower k? Miss u much coco! Have a blast and update often hahaha!

    PS: Sorry ye, pls delete the previous comment coz got referring url, hehehe!

    • aishahrox December 2, 2009 at 4:50 am #

      Hehehe okay, i havent do that link think and follow others and whatso ever yet. Biasalah lembs sikit and yea, mcm la aku rajin nak update often! LMAO! Okay i already deleted your previous comment. MISS YOU TOO COCO!!!

Leave a Reply

